Van Susteren Recounts Obama Administration’s Shocking Attempt to Persuade her to ‘Kill Benghazi Coverage’ by Fox

Van Susteren Jennifer Griffin

Greta Van Susteren /Jennifer Griffin Fox News – (Photo) Forbes

Recently Fox News’ Greta Van Susteren shared very personal  and disturbing story about the extent to which the Obama administration attempted to shut down Fox News from reporting on the terror attack in Benghazi.

The day after the bipartisan Senate Intelligence Committee report on Benghazi was released, Van Susteren blogged, “Gretawire,” saying the Obama administration “has some explaining to do.”

Taking her readers for a “little walk in history” to remind of how Fox News was the only network “shut out” of a State Department conference call specifically set up to answer questions about Benghazi for the media” in the days after the attack in September 2012.  She reminded them that the CIA briefing about Benghazi at the CIA was for all the networks – except one: Fox News Channel; the CIA would not let Fox News Channel attend.

It was the phone call she received from a “good friend in the Obama administration”, she wrote, “that was most shocking and the most ‘low’.”

This “friend” attempted to have Greta stop Fox News’ national security correspondent Jennifer Griffin from reporting on Benghazi.

Van Susteren held nothing back in her blog piece but the “friend’s” name, as she wrote:

After Benghazi on 9/11/2012, the Obama administration tried very hard to discourage Fox News Channel from reporting on it.  The effort was obstruction – pure and simple. 

They tried to prevent the truth from coming out and the Administration tried just about everything to discourage Fox from investigating and reporting. 

All the American people wanted, and all I ever wanted, was just the facts – why did 4 Americans die?  What happened?  

The Obama Administration put out that phony video story — but who could not have been suspicious of the Administration after hearing that?   Frankly, if they had been candid on day 1, the Benghazi story would have been over in short order.  It would not be to the point we are now: with a Senate Bi Partisan Intelligence Committee report with the very painful conclusion that the murders at Benghazi could have been prevented.

So let’s take a little walk in history…just a sample of how the Obama Administration tried to shut Fox News Channel’s reporting down:

In the early days after Benghazi, the State Department omitted only Fox News Channel from its conference call to all the media when it claimed to be answering questions about Benghazi for the media.  Our friends in other media outlets were scandalized that Fox was not included and  told us all about it.  They were suspicious of State Department forgetting us/Fox and courageous to tip us off.   The State Department claimed it was accident and not intentional.

And then shortly thereafter, there was the CIA briefing about Benghazi at the CIA for all the networks – except one: Fox News Channel.  The CIA would not let Fox News Channel attend. 

Then we had to listen to all the silliness about a video….what was with that?   Did anyone ever really think that was legitimate?

And there were many times in the months and years since September 2012 when Obama Administration officials would make comments to suggest that Fox was just doing the Benghazi reporting for political reasons.  The Administration was doing what it could to deter and demean the Fox News Channel investigation.  They did not want to give us the facts — so their strategy was to attempt to belittle and demean our reporting. 

As an aside, does the Obama Administration think politics is the reason the Democratically led Senate Intelligence Committee opened its investigation?  Obviously not.

It is also interesting to note that The New York Times, thought by many to be the gold standard in journalism, recently reported that it was not Al Qaeda.  According to the bipartisan Senate Intelligence Committee report, the NY Times reporting is wrong.  (Yes, the same New York Times that reported there were weapons of mass destruction in Iraq.  That was wrong, too.) 

And then as I was sitting at my desk thinking about the reporting since September 2012, I thought about the weirdest of all and the worst of all for me personally!  I remembered a disturbing phone call from a good friend in the Obama Administration.  I have known this friend for years.  The call was a short time after 9/11 (maybe Oct. 2012?) In the call, my friend told me that my colleague Jennifer Griffin, who was aggressively reporting on Benghazi, was wrong and that, as a favor to me, my friend in the Administration was telling me so that I could tell Jennifer so that she did not ruin her career.   My friend was telling me to tell Jennifer to stop her reporting.  Ruin her career? 

In 20 plus years, I have never received a call to try and shut down a colleague – not that I even could – this was a first.   Here is what I know:  Jennifer is a class act….experienced..and a very responsible journalist.  One of the absolute best in the business – no axe to grind, she just wants the facts. 

I told my friend before I go to Jennifer telling her she is wrong,  I need proof she is wrong, strong proof and you need to be specific  – what are you saying she is getting wrong?  We went around and around — including the statement again that this was just a call as a favor to Jennifer and me to save Jennifer’s career from reporting incorrect information.  I got no proof.  Zero.   I smelled a rat.  Favor to me?  Hardly.  My friend was trying to use me.   I feel bad that a friend did that to me, tried to use me for a dirty reason.   I knew then — and it is now confirmed by  BIPARTISAN Senate Intelligence Committee — Jennifer was getting her facts right.   I think it is really low for the Administration to stoop this low.   

og-fn-fox-news-reporting

h/t to Breitbart News: Van Susteren Claims WH Source Told Her to Warn Fox Reporter to Back Off Benghazi

Bipartisan Senate Intel Committee: Benghazi Was Preventable, Al Qaeda Was Involved, And The White House Knew It

Judge Jeanine Pirro Opening Statement – Justice For Benghazi Terror Attack – Hillary 2016? 

Benghazi Report: Obama and Hillary Lied, Americans Died, Media Complicit… Obama Went to Vegas 

Benghazi Bombshell, Benghazi Documents Revealed – Obama Lied Period; Which Means Hillary Lied Too!! – Special Report All Star Panel 

Benghazi Attack Testimony Reveals – Peter: They Committed Military; Sin They Didn’t Try

NY Times has egg on face; bipartisan Senate report faults State Dept. for Benghazi

Media Hoax on Benghazi to Save Hillary

Protecting Hillary…

Benghazi Attack Testimony Reveals – Peter: They Committed Military; Sin They Didn’t Try

NYT, Hillary & Obama’s War on a Mom

Judge Jeanine Pirro – Benghazi 9/11 Whitewash – Rep Trey Gowdy Responds To NY Times Article

Rep. Trey Gowdy: New York Times Doing PR Work For Hillary, White House On Benghazi

‘Benghazi, Benghazi, You Let Them Die!’… Hillary Clinton Heckled During College Speech

Judge Jeanine Pirro Calls Out Hillary Clinton & Barack Obama as Liars

Remember: Chris Matthews: The right owes Susan Rice an apology for Benghazi

Catherine Herridge: ‘This is the Smoking Gun Warning’ of a Coming Attack in Benghazi …After Emails That Obama Administration Watched Attack and Murders in Real-Time… And Did Nothing!

FOX News’ Roger Ailes Talks Back – Great Interview!

Book: Collusion: How the Media Stole the 2012 Election—and How to Stop Them from Doing It in 2016 (Kindle)

About Ask Marion

I am a babyboomer and empty nester who savors every moment of my past and believes that it is the responsibility of each of us in my generation and Americans in general to make sure that America is as good or even a better place for future generations as it was for us. So far... we haven't done very well!! Favorite Quotes: "The first 50 years are to build and acquire; the second 50 are to leave your legacy"; "Do something that scares you every day!"; "The journey in between what you once were and who you are becoming is where the dance of life really takes place". At age 62 I find myself fighting inoperable uterine Cancer and thanks to the man upstairs and the prayers from so many people including many of my readers from AskMarion and JustOneMorePet... I'm beating it. After losing our business because of the economy and factors related to the re-election of President Obama in 2012 followed by 16-mos of job hunting, my architect-trained husband is working as a trucker and has only been home approximately 5-days a month since I was diagnosed, which has made everything more difficult and often lonely... plus funds are tight. Our family medical deductible is 12K per year for two of us; thank you ObamaCare. But thanks to donations from so many of you, we are making ends meet as I go through treatment while taking care of my father-in-law who is suffering from late stage Alzheimer's and my mother-in-law who suffers from RA and onset dementia as well as hearing loss, for which there are no caretaker funds, as I continue the fight here online to inform and help restore our amazing country. And finally I need to thank a core group of family, friends, and readers... all at a distance, who check in with me regularly. Plus, I must thank my furkids who have not left my side through this fight. You can see them at JustOneMorePet.
This entry was posted in Asshats, Big Brother, Choices, Freedom, Get Involved, Knowledge Is Power, Lies, low-informed voters, manipulation of the public, Media, Politics, Progressivism, Stand Up, Wake Up, Watch the Other Hand, You Be the Judge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Van Susteren Recounts Obama Administration’s Shocking Attempt to Persuade her to ‘Kill Benghazi Coverage’ by Fox

  1. Pingback: Protecting Hillary… | askmarion

  2. Pingback: Most Transparent Administration Throws Secret Party | askmarion

  3. Pingback: Bombshell: Pentagon ‘didn’t know’ Benghazi annex existed | askmarion

  4. Pingback: The Wrap at Ask Marion 1.19.14 Thru 1.26.14 | askmarion

  5. Pingback: Michelle Bachmann Says Only God Can Defeat Hillary Clinton In 2016 - Page 4 - Defending The Truth Political Forum

  6. Pingback: Judge Jeannine takes on President Obama on his claims about Benghazi | The Minority Report Blog

Leave a comment