Happy New Year 2011

Happy New Year 2011.  Hope you all had a safe, happy and fun New Year’s Eve and wishing you a prosperous and healthy 2011 filled with accomplishments and joy~

I did not manage to pull together a Christmas letter this year… too many irons in the fire I guess, nor did we send out Christmas cards.  So I’m quickly going to try to catch up here with everyone on New Years after having spent the morning watching the Rose Parade twice already and waiting for the Rose Bowl Game to begin… something tells me I won’t finish before it starts.  Tim’s parents and aunt and uncle went to Pasadena to see the parade live today… another perfect Chamber of Commerce  New Year’s Day for the parade and game; 65 degrees and crystal clear.

I was sitting in our living room surrounded by moving boxes yesterday that are all still waiting for me to fill them because I took every chance I had to take a break and sit on our back porch, walk the dogs or just stand peaking out the sliding door toward the ocean, a view I/we will sorely miss!  After some debate I decided not to even make an attempt at making New Year’s resolutions… Gonna leave my path through 2011 to the Man upstairs.

We have lived here two years and have loved every moment!  We rented with a right of first refusal to buy here written into the lease but just found out that we have to move because our landlord now wants to put his son into this house.  The timing could not be worse for us and deep in my heart I truly thought I would never have to move again.  I will miss the beautiful sunsets and sunrises, the crashing of the waves always in the background and the great neighbors we have!!  Below are just a few photos of what we will miss.

Our Place - Feb 2009 010Sunday Drive - April 5 2009 049

We have been on a 7-year stretch of less than great luck, so I am sure that 2011 will be a better year!!  So I am looking at the unexpected and untimely move as an opportunity.  Just not quite sure yet what that opportunity or underlying message is.

As I look back over the year, it really has been a roller coaster financially, politically and with family.  But the high spots have been good ones.

The beginning of the year began with several visits from Tim’s partners in the new company, Richard from South Korea and Jerry from Wyoming, who stayed with us as they started the process of putting together their new enterprise.

Jerry and Tim

Tim was finishing his 5-year on again off again theatre project, after having worked with two building owners and two theatre owners, one of whom went bankrupt and caused a 2-year gap, and re-drawing new plans and designs at least 7 or 8 times between the two perspective owners and then taking on the job as project manager to get it done. They finally had the grand opening of the New Regency Theatre of San Juan Capistrano  featuring a VIP Theatre and Rick’s (Casablanca style) Café, as well as three other screens in May.

Guests Queing UpLocal CheerleadersCross Creek Cowboys 2Rick...Regency Ourside BarRegency Snack Bar 2Lyndon Golin Thanking the ManRecognizing Tim Algier Project Architect 2P1010025P1010081

My (Marion’s) year was spent, in large part, getting more involved in one of my first loves, politics (which really began back in 2008) primarily in the form of blogging, ghost writing and tea party related activities.  I forgot how much I loved it and I have met some amazing people, celebrities as well as everyday moms and dads, many who have found their voice for the first time; gone to some fascinating events and found a whole new circle of friends, many of whom I only know from online.  But one of my good friends comes from a relationship that we built almost exclusively from emails starting about 10-years ago when our kids were young and attending the same theater of the arts boarding school for dance. We have worked together on phone and fax campaigns, research for articles, blogs and emails, campaigns, as pol workers and coordinating and attending events.

The year also brought me (Marion) to Helping Hand Worldwide where I volunteer once a week on the trucks plus as and where needed additionally.  Helping Hand Worldwide provides and distributes food and other necessities to seniors, children, families and military families all over Orange County, Camp Pendleton and San Diego Naval Base.

61418489Sarah and Alveda 8.28.10rush-limbaughPhoto from 8.28 Restore Honor Event 8  - Camping Out the Night BeforeAndrew Breitbart - Santa Ana Tea PartyLaura Ingraham Book Signing at Nixon Library 072610-22DC HC Rally 03.20.10-1-2Michelle Malkin - Conversation with MMRadio Hosts John in Ken at Tax Protest Mar t7hPalin Signing Autographs

A good part of the rest of the year, almost 24/7 from April until now, has been spent by Tim working on getting his new corporation up and running.  Saying it has been quite the adventure is an understatement!  Third time is the charm after two merger attempts with what turned out to be shady partners and companies.

The merger and approvals between Mees Masonry and Centiuum to become MC Endeavors were finally completed on December 8th, only 100 days longer than they expected because of all the new legislation put into place this past summer (bad timing for them) but everything is finally in place to start their media and marketing campaign and to move forward on projects beginning Monday January 3rd.  One of the most exciting developments so far is Lewis Lucke, the Ambassador to Haiti in charge 0f the reconstruction effort, joining their board of directors.

CHI_landing_page_3

In August our niece, Whitney, and her family came out for a visit from Nevada.  It was a nice break from the routine.  Our great niece, Hayley, was just short of turning two, so it was a lot of fun to see her and spend some time.  Her papa, Josh, was a bit under the weather, but it gave my niece and I more time to sit and gab.  The visit was too short as always but we got to take Hayley on her first adventure to the beach, show them the completed theatre and do some early celebrating at the new Farrell’s Ice Cream parlor, a re-vamp of a chain that was part of our teenage life after Friday night football games (an alternative to Bob’s Big Boy and Mike’s Pizza) and in-between cruising Van Nuys Boulevard.  We had a great visit with our great-nephews last year but sadly didn’t get to see them this year.

P1010021DSCN0241DSCN0212P1010049I'm Making a WishHayley's 2nd B-Day Pre Party

Our other fun but big project for the year was putting together our 40th high school reunion which was held at the Sheraton Universal in October.  We had a great committee and held all our meetings on Skype… how 2010 of us old farts! Winking smile  We had classmates join us from all over the country as well as from Bogotá Columbia and Adelaide Australia.  Although we had a room at the Sheraton and had set aside a couple days for Tim to pull together the slide show and for me to handle the usual last minute event emergencies and look over by remarks, we barely slide in on time because of a pile up of outside issues that week and I put the final touches on my talk for the evening down on paper on the way.  I never tasted the food and felt like I barely visited with anyone, which is typical for me.  But a good time seemed to be had by all and as usual the evening was over in the blink of an eye.  Everyone seemed to enjoy the slide show and I even had several people ask me about a copy of my speech… amazing how sometimes the crazier things are beforehand, the better the results!  I just finished off some of the last photo and paperwork items to put that reunion to rest.  The last item is to burn, label and mail out the CD copies of Tim’s presentation from that night and then look over the proofs of the memory album when I get them. (Photo 6 below is our committee photo for the memory album… don’t have an original yet.)

Raffle GiftsMarion and Tim at 40th - CopyShot 1 from PodiumTim, Marion and Ron at BreakfastMorning After Reunion Breakfast 2GROUP2_G2_32403

Every event has a surprise of fun moment… Here was ours:  One of classmates showed up as Paul McCartney in his Sergeant Pepper album outfit.  He was not recognizable and it was totally out of his high school character so kept everyone guessing…

Alex and Steve McKanePaul McCartney

With all that is going on, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years were very quiet.  It was primarily a doggie Christmas (season)!  No kids around this year (something I never thought I’d experience) and although we put up lights outside and stockings and fixed a turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas and a goose today, we did not put up a tree and only the furkids had gifts in their stockings to open.  (Our son just celebrated his 6th anniversary with Ralph’s Markets last summer and our daughter is now working for ENK International, although not in her field of study but much more related than what she has been doing.)


P1010031clip_image002P1010145clip_image003P1010056imageWe Will Help You With Your Gift - Christmas 2008clip_image001P1010143

As we are (I’m) looking at packing everything up in the next 3-weeks, as Tim is focused on kicking off the new company, we find ourselves debating and quickly looking at all our options in making this move… including making it happen.  Everything happens for a reason… and I’m trying real hard to hear the voice telling me what the reason behind this is or at least for the direction we are to pursue to find the answer.

I may be a little scarce in posting to my 5-blogs and then forwarding on some of that info during the next month, depending what all comes my way and how quick I get everything packed.  I am looking forward in the hope that I can finish a couple of the books I’ve started, perhaps find a job (from home would be even better) writing or researching for some of the people I’ve met or been inspired by the past couple of years, plus get my photos and a book on the Groetzmeier Heritage finished for the kids, nieces and nephews as well as make progress on a grant for my dream project to start and implement a national service to match people and pets and give the pets a shelter until their forever home materializes. (2 out of 3 animals who enter the U.S. shelter system never leave there alive.)

God Bless and Happy New Year!

Auld Lang Syne (with lyrics)

clip_image001

California Santas

About Ask Marion

I am a babyboomer and empty nester who savors every moment of my past and believes that it is the responsibility of each of us in my generation and Americans in general to make sure that America is as good or even a better place for future generations as it was for us. So far... we haven't done very well!! Favorite Quotes: "The first 50 years are to build and acquire; the second 50 are to leave your legacy"; "Do something that scares you every day!"; "The journey in between what you once were and who you are becoming is where the dance of life really takes place".
This entry was posted in Changing Winds, Family and Friends, Finding the Opportunities, Holidays, Pets, Remembering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

