The Bitches of Eastwick

Sometimes you really have to ask yourself… why do I bother!?!
Between computer system problems and husband errands, I spent the day manuevering through the online college registration system, to prepare a preferred class list based on my daughter’s instructions, so I could register for her at exactly 6:45PM to get her needed Fall classes… while she was doing her Minnie thing at Disney tonight.  After having waitlist problems and class overlap problems (due to Minnie being in a hurry and not very clear) and then running into some kind of “teacher permission restrictions”… I juggled, waitlisted and added a few classes just in case the waitlists didn’t clear, and got the girl registered for 12.5 units and waitlisted for another 4 … even emailed a detailed explanation, questions and instructions to Miss Minnie before zipping out the door.  And I thought I had done pretty well under the circumstances.
I then jumped into my car in the hope of making the parade to meet up with a friend and/or possibly my ex and his girlfriend (the one he won’t marry)… who were all going to Calfiornia Adventure to see our daughter Summer as Minnie Mouse in the Electical Parade. I dashed through the Disney parking structure after losing reception as I was talking to my buddy, Andrea, from Mood Space.  I ended up on the top level of the parking structure… the Minnie level.  After being stuck behind a large, slow and oblivious family… for a 5-story escalator ride I missed the tram that had been sitting there waiting and I swear I somehow got into some kind of a slow mo tram zone….  While on the next tram, my husband Tim calls to say he made the flight afterall that he thought he was going to miss… do to a combination of traffic and his PMSing office manager. But he was still in Ontario sitting on the tarmac because of mechanical problems.  I hop off the tram and am practically running, when I get to the entrance to DCA (California Adventure) and see 4 lines that are virtually backed onto Disneyland’s entrance… :-(  When I finally get inside I start weaving and bobbing through the crowd to get back to the ‘Big Orange’, where the parade starts, and where I told everyone I’d be if I made it… when I hear, “the parade has begun” over ther loud speaker and therefore I can’t go any further.  I squeeze in, in an area where people are primarily sitting… and who do I see, but Jim and Lois (the ex and his significant other) standing right next to me.  Jim was Jim and was amazed we found each other…. and Lois is seething because I’m there.  She barely looked at me and didn’t say a word.  A bit later, I showed them how to get through to the front of the park and I commented on Jim’s jacket…. about a $350.00+ letterman’s type jacket from Disneyland.  I said (to cheap and basic amusement park hater Jim), “Wow… You bought that Disney Jacket?!?  Was it raining money or are you running a fever?”  He said it was Lois’s and she didn’t want to wear it because it was too warm, so he was wearing it rather than carry it.  She quickly jumped in and said, “I bought the jacket large so it would fit both of us and I just love anything fun… cause life’s too short!”.  (“I was just amazed at how all of a sudden, she appeared to be just like Twila and Michele (the witches who have made my and my daughter’s life Hell)… Life’s too short and I just want to have fun… HMMM… no matter who I hurt, what a ruin and who’s kids and lives I screw up… cause I’m having fun!”  I kinda felt like I was in a horror film and the light just went on.)  But I could see that it was pissing her off that I was there; that thought was my only salvation at the moment!  When we got to the end, to a spot where you can see the parade go through the exit doors and into the back lot, Summer’s float halted a bit.  Summer made a little heart in the air… as part of an I love you.  I of course would like to think it was to me, or at least to Jim and I, but old Lois jumps in front of me (practically knocking me over) and does the I love you back… I wanted to gag… or slug her!?!  But I took a deep breath instead. and smiled. I figured they’d watch the rest of the parade… and maybe we’d grab a cup of coffee and slowly head out… along with a million other people.  But Lois wanted to leave immediately after Summer’s float (#2 in the parade) went through the gate… and off they went.  Didn’t watch the end of the parade… or actually most of the parade…. and most definitely didn’t want to chat for even a second… and she definitely didn’t want Jim and I chatting…. GRRR!
When I’m practically home, almost 10:35PM, Hubby Tim calls again to say after sitting on the tarmac for almost 2 hours, he is finally in SFO.  He was sitting at the diner across from Richard’s gate (who he was meeting) at about 10:35PM and had just gotten there directly from his plane.  He decided just to wait and pick up the car after Richard deplaned…. and he sounded like he somehow caught cold?
Then at about 11:00PM, right after I got home, the Miss calls virtually yelling at me with a bitchy tone of voice…. saying, “Why do I have acting for dancers and ballroom dancing in my schedule?  And what happened to my foundation class?” (Just short of calling me stupid).  Hello, what foundation class?  Not on the list she gave me!  And when I said that and asked did you read my emails and explanations…. “I was doing my best to cover all the bases….” She abruptly said, “I gotta go and fix this and will call you back…” but of course she didn’t.   GRRR Again!?!
I guess it was bitch day?!?  Tim’s office manager, Lois, the thought of Twila and Michele and then Summer…  Definitely a Bitches of Eastwick kinda day!  Does wolfbane help?
About Ask Marion

I am a babyboomer and empty nester who savors every moment of my past and believes that it is the responsibility of each of us in my generation and Americans in general to make sure that America is as good or even a better place for future generations as it was for us. So far... we haven't done very well!! Favorite Quotes: "The first 50 years are to build and acquire; the second 50 are to leave your legacy"; "Do something that scares you every day!"; "The journey in between what you once were and who you are becoming is where the dance of life really takes place".
This entry was posted in Blah Blah Blah ... Bitch Bitch Bitch, Family and Friends, Remembering, Thoughts ..., Useless Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

