China Part II

…Anyway, so after the Great Wall of China, which was amazing, we drove that long two hours back to the Capitol Hotel and were given 3-hours to find our own dinner and have some free time. So my group and I spent the better part of that time in the mall where I bought a really cute scarf and matching beanie that kept me warm for the rest of the trip and then, being bad Americans, we ate at Pizza Hut before we had to rush back to the hotel to go to the KUNG FU show, where of all places, I found a pair of shoes that actually fit me. The show was so cool. It had the most props I had ever seen in any play. It was also very fast paced with all the spinning in the air, back flips, and they crushed medal rulers on their heads. Plus it actually had an official story/plot behind it about a boy going through the process of becoming a Buddhist monk. The temptation scene was the best because they had a combination of a ballet duet and another duet in the air. You know when the pieces of fabric are hanging from the ceiling and then the couple wraps themselves up in it. That and I just liked the thought of temptation. Hehe. After that, I tried to get a party going in our extremely large hotel suit, but everyone wanted to bowl in the hotel, so I headed up getting some sleep which was fine with me because I was sick.

However, let the record show that I was still down to party! ; ) The third day, after breakfast, we walked over to the Tiananmen Square and then to the Forbidden City, which wasn’t very forbidden considering the millions of RUDE tourists there pushing and shoving, instead of just taking in the beauty. Now, you would think in China you would get some great Chinese food, but no, for lunch we went to this incredibly spicy, mouth on fire, hating it, Indian place. They tried to tell us it was northern Chinese food, but it had to be Indian food because of the spice in everything. Thank God dinner was actually amazingly good Chinese good.

After lunch the agenda told everyone that we would be going to a temple. I think only 10 out of 80 people went to the temple and everyone else, including myself, skipped out and took a taxi over to the silk market or as I like to put it Bargaining central. They sell everything at this silk market and a lot of people including my roommate spent like $400 there on just random crap. They start at some ridiculous price and then you have to bargain with them for an hour to get the price you want. I wasn’t that into it. So I only bought a little tea set and a pair of sunglasses cause I suck at bargaining. GO ME!

After dinner we went straight to the acrobatic show. I was really mad that someone told me that she heard that it was better the Cirque du Soliel. So, the whole time I was watching I was comparing it to Cirque du Soliel, which of course it was no where near as good as Cirque du Soliel, but it was still good and had some creative aspects like 30 Chinese people climbing onto one bicycle, which was pretty funny. And the strength of all these people was incredible… INCREDIBLE! I will have to show you what they did without actually doing it obviously.

OOoo, the best part about the show (NOT) was afterwards, trying to go to the bathroom… It was definitely just a whole in the floor that doesn’t flush and doesn’t have any toilet paper. Thankfully I scrounged some toilet paper from a Chinese lady that was prepared for such an occasion. The next morning we had to be packed, checked out and had our breakfast by 6:45am, when we left to go to the Temple of Heaven, which was not a temple, but a park where their elderly came to play hack sac, do ballroom dancing, tai chi, and just hangout in the freezing air. Everything there was made in groups of nine because nine symbolizes Heaven to them. So when there were steps, there where nine steps. Then tragically we had to head to the airport and head back to the ship just in time for me to serve my 2 hour dock time. Which sucks because I spent my last hour in this one store trying on some snowboarding jackets and pants and I was finally going to buy two jackets and a pair of pants for $400, which is really good because usually just a pair of pants cost $300, when my credit card was declined. (tear) So I had to rush back to the ship to get on before my dock time without any snowboarding gear… I was so sad!! Damn credit card! And that was my time in Hong Kong and Beijing. Isn’t it exciting? And tomorrow we are going to be in JAPAN,then Hawaii, and then HOME!!! YAY!  And there are finals in there too! :-(

Love,

SUMMER

 

 

About Ask Marion

I am a babyboomer and empty nester who savors every moment of my past and believes that it is the responsibility of each of us in my generation and Americans in general to make sure that America is as good or even a better place for future generations as it was for us. So far... we haven't done very well!! Favorite Quotes: "The first 50 years are to build and acquire; the second 50 are to leave your legacy"; "Do something that scares you every day!"; "The journey in between what you once were and who you are becoming is where the dance of life really takes place".
This entry was posted in Semester At Sea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

