IBD, Colitis and Crohn Disease… HELP!

My now  20 year old daughter, Summer, was diagnosed with IBD (Irritable Bowel Disease) in her sophomore year of high school.  She was on some medication for about 18 months on and off and then said she was better and didn’t need it.  Whenever I would ask her after that, when she went off to college, she said she was fine, but then at the end of last year she went for a check up at Kaiser out of the blue … but had "the boyfriend" take her instead of me/us, so we weren’t there to ask questions and didn’t get much info out of her.
 
All of a sudden today, she writes that …. Oh by the way, "they actually have a name for what I have now and it isn’t IBD or IBS… I have colitis, which is the pre-cancer (I thnk she meant pre-cursor) to colon cancer, so if I’m not treated soon or put on meds it would have turned into cancer so I have another doctors appt aug 15th. Oh and I am also severely anemic".  I’m not sure where she got this info or why all of a sudden cause I didn’t get her message till after mid-night.
 
Summer sometimes has (or at least has had) selective hearing and what always seemed to me a type of memory lapse… or maybe she just wasn’t listening to me?!?  But her announcement simply befuddled me!!
 
When diagnosed, they told us that she had IBD, which was a pre-cursor to colitis or Crohn Disease, and some cases could turn into colon cancer,(which is what my father died of).  However that certainly wasn’t a certain or even expected outcome.  They told us that the cause of IBD and colitis was unknown and there was not cure; just maintenance from regular flare-ups through healthy diet and healthy living.  They also said that stress can aggrevate the condition(s) and cause flare-ups, but that stress did not cause the condition.  Summer was there when they talked to us and they gave us a basic info sheet on colitis and a food sheet to try and eliminate aggravating foods from her diet by trial and error, which at the time she wasn’t real interested in doing.  I made some basic changes in her diet, like buying apple juice instead of orange juice, etc… which was one of the suggestions.  We, as a family, were taking high end nutritionals, that I am sure helped her at the time as well, that she is no longer taking either.
 
Over time, I would point out that getting too little sleep, drinking alcohol, eating badly and even birth control pills, when she really shouldn’t need them, might not be in her best interest.  She of course tuned me out…  And now it as if she doesn’t even remember being told any of this.  I even had a long discussion about colitis, as well as doing some research. with the mother of one of her dance buddies.  Her brother had had colitis all his life.  I passed that info on to Summer as well???  I also discussed it with my friend, Anrea at Mood Space…  I have to say I’m a bit shocked at her message and lack of remembering!!!
 
All the info is a bit vague on this condition, and in some instances the conditions (IBD, colitis and Crohn Disease are listed as related and in others as if they are synonymous.  Does anyone have anymore info on these conditions???
About Ask Marion

I am a babyboomer and empty nester who savors every moment of my past and believes that it is the responsibility of each of us in my generation and Americans in general to make sure that America is as good or even a better place for future generations as it was for us. So far... we haven't done very well!! Favorite Quotes: "The first 50 years are to build and acquire; the second 50 are to leave your legacy"; "Do something that scares you every day!"; "The journey in between what you once were and who you are becoming is where the dance of life really takes place".
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

